Nestled in a quiet, green corner of the bustling modern capital of the State of Texas,
the French Legation was originally built in 1840-41 to be the residence of the chargé
d'affaires who represented the government of France in the Republic of Texas.
The Legation became the home of Dr. and Mrs. Joseph Robertson in 1848, remaining in
their family until 1949, when it was acquired by the State of Texas. Under the
custodianship of the Daughters of the Republic of Texas, the site has been lovingly
restored and furnished with items original to its time period. It is the oldest extant
frame structure in Austin.